Lorna Jackson Public School Blog

New frontiers for new learning

The Non Office Day

A few weeks ago, an interesting idea caught my eye while reading postings from my professional learning network members on Twitter: the non office day. A few principals in the States and Canada talked about how they set aside a full day in their schools to be in classrooms, hallways and outside at recess. Tomorrow, I am going to try it at Lorna Jackson. Barring an emergency situation, I hope to spend the entire day outside of the school office. I am going to try to focus solely on celebrating the work our staff and students are doing in the building. The staff have been great at asking me to come in for visits and I have a full day scheduled including: a visit to both kindergarten rooms, a primary reading session, a junior math lesson and intermediate language activities. I also know that this will provide me with a lot of rich learning.

Looking forward to tomorrow.

2 responses to “The Non Office Day

  1. John T February 16, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    I think this is a really interesting idea. I expect that you will get a very different perspective on the day-to-day goings-on in the school. Hope to see a post on your observations.

  2. Mr. Collins - Principal LJPS February 18, 2011 at 2:12 am

    Thanks Mr. T,
    I do look forward to sharing, starting tonight. I sense it will be a few posts over the next week or so as it was a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

