Lorna Jackson Public School Blog

New frontiers for new learning

We have a “Growth Mindset” at LJPS

Staff and students at LJPS are talking about how important it is to have a growth mindset towards learning.

IMG_3194

At LJPS we view mistakes as opportunities for learning.  Some phrases that our primary students might use are:

Instead of “I made a mistake” say, “Making mistakes shows that I am trying!”

Instead of “I can’t do this” say, “This may take some time and hard work!”

Instead of “I am not good at this”, say “How can I get better at this?”

We can all get better with practice.  As our students work towards curriculum and learning skills goals, help us to encourage them by keeping a growth mindset.  Making mistakes is how we can learn!

Comments are closed.

